Arkansas Professional Photographers Association National Award Recipients

PPA  National  Award  Recipients

Volunteers truly are the lifeblood of the Professional Photographers of America and its Affiliates like the Arkansas Professional Photographers Association.  Every association has those extraordinary volunteers whose efforts on behalf of the Affiliate and its members deserve special recognition.

Seeking a way to thank these individuals, Professional Photographers of America created the National Award in 1958.  Each year, PPA makes this prestigious award available to state, regional, national and international affiliates - who then present it to deserving individuals.

The highest honor granted by a PPA Affiliate, it recognizes those whose support for photography goes far beyond any regular expectations or contributions. The simple inscription on this plaque reads "for meritorious contributions to professional photography" - but we know that this award means far more than that.

APPA honors those special individuals here whom we have been presented this award.


The following recipients have been awarded The National Award 

by the Arkansas Professional Photographers Association:

1958   G.J. Shrader
1959  Earl Saunders Jr.
1960  Offie Lites
1962  Greer Lile
1963  Ben Smart
1964  Bob Huff
1965   Mrs. C.W. Mitchell
1966   R. Neil Rhodes
1967   Richard A. Smart
1968   Sam Fausett
1969   Ben Red
1970   R.L. "Pete" Major
1971   Roger Red
1972   Chester Kassel
1973   Mary Lile
1974   Dick Hogue

1975   Tom & Jo Alice McDonald
1976   LaVerne Major
1977   Lenard Kern
1978   Bill Lemmons
1979   Lena Red
1980   Jorden Davie
1981   Don Carson
1982   Herman West
1983   Albert Cooper
1984   David Huff
1985   Billie Seamans
1986   Horace Crofoot
1987   Jimmy DeVore
1988   Mike Hilburn
1989   Gary Meek
1990   Marty Burlsworth

1991   L.B. "Dusty" King
1992   Kathryn Meek
1993   Frank Washburn
1994   Michael Timmons
1996   Arnie Burton
1997   Marty Sikes
1998   Ralph Relyea
2000   Jim Cunningham
2003   Melisa Smock
2009   Robert O. Seat
2013   Joel Schmidt
2014   Becky Hardgrave
2015   Bruce Allen
2018   Bobby Jines

2021   Phil Hobby

2023   Mike Kemp

The Gary and Kathryn Meek Distinguished Service Award Recipients

(Formerly known as the APPA Distinguished Service Award 2018)

Sam Fausett, Conway

Bob Huff, Fayetteville

R. Neil Rhodes, Crossett

G.J. "Buddy" Shrader, Little Rock

Ben Smart, Little Rock

Mrs. C.W. Mitchell, Fort Smith

Coy L. Claxton, Batesville

Offie Lites, Pine Bluff

Earl Saunders, Little Rock

Ben Red, Little Rock

Greer Lile, Little Rock

Bob Hargrave, Gurdon

Mrs. Jean Saunders, Little Rock

"Doc" Miller, Fort Smith

Bill Casey, Benton

Chester Kassel, Morrilton

Mary Lites, Pine Bluff

Lillian Rhodes, Crossett

R.L. "Pete" Major, Little Rock

Leonard Kern Jr., Clarendon

Roger Red, Little Rock

Laverne Major, Little Rock

Tom McDonald, Jonesboro

Don Carson, Little Rock

LaJunta Walls, Judsonia

Jorden Davie, Little Rock

Bill Lemmons, Jonesboro

Albert Cooper, Magnolia

Bill Estes, Batesville

David Huff, Fayetteville

Herman West, Searcy

Billie Seamans, McGehee

Horace Crofoot, Morrilton

Wallace Britt, El Dorado

Jimmy DeVore, Stuttgart

George E. Dillin, Searcy

Mary Red, Little Rock

Gary Meek, Hot Springs

Jim Cunningham, Little Rock

Kathryn Meek, Hot Springs

Franklin Washburn, Little Rock

Michael Timmons, Mountain Home

Marty Burlsworth, Harrison

Ralph Relyea, DeWitt

Bob and Shirley McCall, Jonesboro

Marty Sikes, Conway

Ed Coyle, Warren

Keith Sturch, Batesville

Lance Johnston, Conway

Joel Schmidt, Little Rock

Brian Roden, Little Rock

Bruce Allen, Beebe

Kevin Taylor, Judsonia

Robert Seat, Batesville

Phil Hobby, Benton

Mike Kemp, Conway

Scott Head, Jacksonville

Bobby and Wyona Jines, Hot Springs

Arkansas Professional Photographers Association
PO Box 1134
Beebe, AR 72012
(501) 941-1509
Email Us
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software